Best answer

Your Zap could not be turned on: GitLab 403 Forbidden

  • 10 August 2023
  • 16 replies
  • 145 views

Userlevel 1

I created a Zap that should create a Notion DB entry for GitLab Merge Request Events in a specific group. The Zap shows no errors, when I tested the connection it worked fine and created an initial item in the Notion database as expected:

But when I turn on the Zap I then get a (rather unhelpful) email letting me know that it doesn’t work:

I connected to GitLab as described in the setup guide and I have maintainer permissions for the group whose repositories I’m trying to access. And as I said, the test worked and both retrieved the expected information from GitLab as well as created the corresponding item in Notion, so I don’t understand why it doesn’t turn on if there are no errors surfaced in the test.

icon

Best answer by SamB 24 June 2024, 15:13

View original

16 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +6

Hi there @cod3licious,

Welcome to the Community! 🎉

I did some digging into this, and it looks like you’re running into a known bug with the GitLab integration. Our team is aware of the issue and is working on a fix. I've added your email address as another affected member. That does a few things:

  • Bring this to the attention of the integration developers
  • Help track and prioritize fixes
  • Allows us to notify you via email if/when this is fixed

Unfortunately, I do not have an ETA, but I’ve added you to the list of users affected by this issue so we can let you know as soon as we have any updates.

Thank you for your understanding.

I am running into the same issue.

Any updates on when/if it will be fixed? How can I be added to the notify list?

Thank you 

Userlevel 7
Badge +6

Hi @bore-hah,

I have added you as another affected member to the open bug report. Unfortunately, we can’t provide an exact timeframe for the bug’s fix. However, we will let you know via email once there is.

Thank you for your patience and understanding.

Could you add me as well to the bug report? This bug is making my workflow unusable at the moment :(

 

thanks!

Userlevel 7
Badge +6

Hi @kevin.,

I have added you as another affected member to the open bug report. While we can’t provide an ETA for a fix. We will let you know once the bug is fixed.

Thank you for your patience and understanding.

Hi @kevin.,

I have added you as another affected member to the open bug report. While we can’t provide an ETA for a fix. We will let you know once the bug is fixed.

Thank you for your patience and understanding.

Thanks Ken. I understand that you cannot provide an ETA but is this something you guys plan to work on in the coming weeks or is this not a priority right now (in which case I will move away from Zapier)?

 

 

Userlevel 7
Badge +6

Hi @kevin.,

Just to give you a heads up, the time it takes to fix bugs can vary quite a bit. We look at things like how complex the bug is, how many of our users it's affecting, and the overall scope of the issue. Sometimes, if the issue involves our partners from other apps, it might take a bit longer.

Thanks for understanding.

Hi Ken. Please add me as another affected member

Userlevel 7
Badge +6

Hi @phutitta,

I have added you as another affected member to the open bug report. We will keep you in the loop via email once the bug has been fixed.

I appreciate your patience and understanding.

I have a very similar problem when using the Gitlab “New Project Issue Event in GitLab” trigger. No problems when testing but can’t turn the zap on. I assume it’s the same root issue. Please add me as affected as well please.

Userlevel 7
Badge +6

Hi @icecorp,

Thanks for bringing this to our attention and I apologize for the inconvenience this bug has caused you.

I have added you as another affected member to the bug report. We will let you know via email once the bug has been fixed.

Thank you for your understanding.

This is really driving me crazy. I had this published before and it was working for a little bit, but now it stopped. Now I am getting this 403 every time I attempt to publish. How did I get it working temporarily? I tried deleting the connections, revoking the app in gitlab and starting over but it doesn’t work anymore.

Userlevel 7
Badge +6

Hi @copyjosh,

I have added you to the bug report. While we don’t have an exact ETA for the bug’s fix. We will keep you informed via email once the bug has been fixed.

Additionally, one user was able to fix this issue:

The user had Maintainer permissions for the project and group. Once their permissions were changed to Owner of the project, they were able to turn on the Zap.

I appreciate your patience and understanding.

@ken.a Please add me to the bug report. This issue makes my Zap useless. I am a paid user and will have to downgrade my subscription if it is not fixed promptly. Please advise, thank you.

Userlevel 7
Badge +6

Hi @kkeystone,

I have added you to the open bug report as another affected member. We will keep you updated via email once the bug has been fixed.

I appreciate your patience and understanding.

Userlevel 7
Badge +11

Hi folks, I’m happy to announce that the bug report for this issue has recently been closed! 🎉

In case you missed the email notification about this here’s what you need to know:

Previously, the GitLab integration allowed users to attempt to create triggers relying on webhooks for projects where they did not have the necessary permissions. This resulted in the zap receiving an error from GitLab after creation and subsequently turning off.

Now, the zap setup only displays GitLab projects where users have sufficient permissions to create webhooks. This change prevents errors and alerts users earlier in the zap setup process, allowing them to review their GitLab roles.


That said, if you’ve got the correct GitLab permissions and are still experiencing issues do reach out in the Community or contact our Support team directly to let us know. In the meantime, happy Zapping! ⚡

Reply