Best answer

Google Contact with certain label creates / updates Trello card in certain list

• 22 April 2021
  • 3 replies

Hi,

I’m new to Zapier and taking my first steps. I would like to connect my Google Contacts with Trello and perform a certain action: a new contact is supposed to create a new card in Trello, which is pretty easy. BUT: I use labels in Google Contacts like “Business”, “Friends”, “Family” and I would like Zapier to sort those labeled contacts into the equally named lists on Trello (I do NOT want to label the Trello card!). 

Another problem is, that I would like to UPDATE the Trello card when the according Google Contact has been changed instead of creating a completely new card. 

Is it possible to merge those actions into one zap? I couldn’t figure out how to do that. Could you please help me on those two topics?

Thanks a lot!

Atg

icon

Best answer by Outliant_Sabbir 22 April 2021, 10:41

View original

This post has been closed for comments. Please create a new post if you need help or have a question about this topic.

3 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +11

@Atg87 Ohhhh this is a great Zap challenge. 

Here’s the high-level view of it (in theory):

Trigger: Google Contacts — New or Updated Contact
Paths:
Path A (only continue if it’s a new contact)
Action: Formatter — Lookup Table (take the label from Google Contacts and output the Trello list ID)
Action: Trello — Create Card (use the Trello list ID from the lookup table above)
Path B (only continue if it’s an updated contact)
Action: Trello — Find Card
Action: Trello — Update Card (using the card ID that you find in the search step above)

Now comes the more complicated part.

Google Contacts triggers on both new AND updated contacts