Best answer

Call myself/set alarm when leaving a location

• 1 November 2021
  • 9 replies

Hi, 

I would like to ask you if I could build a Zap (workflow) that when I leave my house then my phone call/alarm to myself to double check I locked all the windows. Is it possible to do so with Zapier? 

I apologize if the question is silly and obvious. This is my first time trying to use Zapier. 

Best,

Tom

icon

Best answer by AppGuyAaron 1 November 2021, 18:40

View original

This post has been closed for comments. Please create a new post if you need help or have a question about this topic.

9 replies

Userlevel 3
Badge +1

Hi @TomPark 

To start out - I just want to say that Zapier is an amazing platform and as an automations expert I use it for 90% of all of the client work that I do. 

However - and I hope I don't get in trouble for this:  

In this particular case, Amazon’s Alexa app (Which is free, and you do not need to have a physical Echo or other device to use it) is I believe your best tool here. 

Inside the Alexa app you would want to create a “routine” of the type “location”. Set your home location and then a trigger for “leaves”. (When you leave the location).

From there you can setup what you want it to do - play a sound, send a message, etc. 

`Aaron

Userlevel 3
Badge +1

So in mine it is between “Smart Home” and “Alarms. 

I would check your permissions. If you did not allow location permission when you installed the app, that could be preventing that option from appearing. 

Userlevel 3
Badge +1

Please keep me posted! Id love to know the resolution in case this ever comes up again.

Hi @TomPark 

To start out - I just want to say that Zapier is an amazing platform and as an automations expert I use it for 90% of all of the client work that I do. 

However - and I hope I don't get in trouble for this: