Best answer

Gmail to Asana Zap: Tasks Aren't Created?

• 17 April 2023
  • 7 replies

Userlevel 1

Hi everyone! I’m a property manager and I’ve decided to automate the handling of maintenance requests. My zap is supposed to start after I approve a repair request and an email is forwarded to my staff’s shared inbox.

Here’s how it’s supposed to work:

1. The staff email address gets the copy of the request
  2. Zapier is supposed to recognize the email through “New Email Matching Search in Gmail”
  3. The email content goes through a number of formatting zaps to extract information crucial to creating the task in Asana
  4. The task is created using the outputs of all of those formatting zaps & is posted to the appropriate Asana board

This is my only Asana zap.

Quick Overview of the Zap Sequence

Here’s the problem:

When tested individually, all of the tasks work fine. I get appropriate outputs every step of the way. When I get all the way to the end, if I test the “Create Task in Asana” part, it generates just fine manually. However, this will not generate on it’s own!

• The zap is published
  • Each step responds appropriately during testing
  • I don’t get any warnings/errors

However, this will NOT WORK automatically, no matter how much time has passed which is problematic for my business.

Any ideas on what’s wrong?

icon

Best answer by christina.d 28 April 2023, 23:36

View original

7 replies

Userlevel 3
Badge +4

Hi @When Jess Zaps 

Thanks for reaching out to the Community!

To ensure we’re on the same page, could you confirm what you mean by it not working automatically? Do you mean to say that the Zap has not yet been triggered since it’s been turned on? Or do you have to trigger the Zap manually for it to work?

Looking forward to your response. That’ll help me make sure I give you the best suggestion possible.

Userlevel 7
Badge +8

Hi @When Jess Zaps  welcome to Zapier Community 👋 -