Best answer

Action repeatedly firing for single trigger (image in Slack)

• 11 February 2022
  • 12 replies

Userlevel 1
Badge

Hello all.

I have an integration with Slack where I’d like Zapier to monitor a channel for a new image, and then post a message to an “aggregate” channel with a permalink. I work in marketing for my company, and we have multiple people posting on-site photos in multiple channels.

This works fine, as I’ve set up a trigger for a channel, then a filter for filetype, and the output to another channel.

However, when Zapier detects the trigger (me posting an image), it will repeatedly and constantly post the Action or output, and it doesn’t stop. I’m not sure if I missed some kind of setting or checkbox; I know it isn’t some kind of recursive search, because it isn’t posting other previously-posted images.

Adding a delay to the end of the action after queuing also doesn’t help, because it’s just delaying the repeated queuing action for five minutes.

Am I missing something? I feel like the default action should be “One trigger, one action” rather than “One trigger, multiple repeated actions.”

icon

Best answer by MattDemers 15 February 2022, 18:39

View original

This post has been closed for comments. Please create a new post if you need help or have a question about this topic.

12 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +14

Hi @MattDemers 

Check your Filter step conditions.

You may need to exclude the aggregate channel for the Zap to proceed.

Help article about infinite loops: https://zapier.com/help/troubleshoot/behavior/zap-is-stuck-in-a-loop

Userlevel 1
Badge

Hi @MattDemers 

Check your Filter step conditions.

You may need to exclude the aggregate channel for the Zap to proceed.

Help article about infinite loops: https://zapier.com/help/troubleshoot/behavior/zap-is-stuck-in-a-loop