Best answer

Issues with async/await and callback not coordinating

• 26 August 2023
  • 6 replies

Userlevel 1

Im still new to JS and web-dev in general, but I am trying to use Code by Zapier blocks to run a companies API to retrieve CSV data. The API POST’s an authentication request which returns an ID string as a JSON. You then use that preauthenticated ID, appended to their base URL to GET the CSV file once it is generated. I have checked with chatGPT, and JSHint.com and am not finding any errors. Furthermore, I took screenshots of network request activity after clicking test, and according to the companies intergrations team the traffic is consistent with a successful call to the server, and response from it. This leads me to believe I am messing up something with my implementation with respect to Zapiers environment specifically, but I cant identify where from Zapiers documentation for what I imagine is lack of experience. Any help or guidance would be greatly appreciated as I feel like I am maddeningly close to the solution but cant quite get there on my own.

The code is as follows: *note: code is currently paired down to only get the ID returned for troubleshooting purposes*

console.log("start");
const uuid = inputData.uuid; const sec = inputData.secret;
const base = *organization base url*
const sdate = inputData.startdate;
const edate = inputData.endate const authHeader = 'Basic ' + Buffer.from(`${uuid}:${sec}`).toString('base64');
const body = JSON.stringify({
'csv_type': 'paid_contributions',
'date_range_start': `${sdate}`,
'date_range_end': `${edate}`
}); 
console.log(body);
output = {id: "no data"};
async function getID() {
try {
   const response = await fetch(`${base}`, {
      method: 'POST',
      headers: {
      'Authorization': authHeader,
      'Accept': 'application/json',
      'Content-Type': 'application/json'
      },
      body: body
   });
   let obj = await response.json();
   console.log(obj);
   output = {id: obj};