Best answer

Zoom New Recording Trigger Doesn't Wait Until Transcription Is Complete

Userlevel 1

I have been using a Zap to download recording from Zoom for a couple of years now.  It works, except that when the Zap triggers the recordings are available for download but the Transcript is not.  So I end up getting the download links for the video/audio/timeline, but the transcript is not part of the recording_files list when the Zap runs.  If I test the zap later on, it will then show the Transcript as part of the list.  

I don’t believe that adding a delay will help me out here since the first step already ran and it already compiled the list of recording_files.

Is there any way the trigger for “New Recording” can wait until the transcript is ready for download so that I can include that in the download files?

icon

Best answer by ken.a 17 May 2023, 09:05

View original

11 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +6

Hi @zappyzapman,

I understand that you mentioned adding a delay step may not be the solution, but I just want to double-check since the "New Recording in Zoom" trigger is an instant trigger. With an instant trigger, your app sends Zapier a notification instantly when new data becomes available. This may not allow the Zoom integration enough time to generate the transcript.

To test this, can you please try adding a delay step of 15 minutes and giving the "New Recording" trigger a little more time to generate the transcript data?

Please let me know if this works for you! 😊

Userlevel 1

I tried this out and in looking at the history of the Zap, it appears that it is building the recording file list at the time of the trigger.  Adding the delay step did not change what was included in the recording file list so the transcription file did not make the list and was not downloaded.