Best answer

Test runs as it should, but on its own Zap sends way too many emails.

• 9 January 2024
  • 7 replies

Hello, Zappers!! I am new to the world of AI workflows. (and i mean new, I am not a tech person whatsoever) I have a few zaps now- most of them work perfectly fine. One, however, seems to have an issue. I have a zap set up where it follows an inventory material google sheet, and when the value in column D falls below the value in column C, it should send ONE single email to specific employees to notify them of low stock + to order more. I already have Column D set as the ‘move forward only if’ part of the trigger. (along with updated rows or spreadsheet as the first trigger step) When i test this step, it sends one email as it should, But when it runs on its own it sends 99+ emails. I have looked at the zap itself, the zap history and everything i could think of as a noob in tech, and cannot figure out how to fix this issue. How do I make my zap only send ONE single email? Feel free to talk as simple as possible for me. lol! 

Thanks in advance! :D

icon

Best answer by Troy Tessalone 9 January 2024, 20:36

View original

7 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +14

Hi @dd_rapid 

To help us have full context, please post detailed screenshots with how your Zap steps are outlined and configured.

There are limitations to be aware of for using GSheets in Zaps, such as repeated values in a cell (X > Y > X).

https://zapier.com/apps/google-sheets/help

TIP: You may want to explore using Airtable instead of GSheets.

I have attached photos of the zap in this comment. 

Looking at the zap history as well, it looks like its showing that it is only sending one email, however recipients are receiving 99+ emails. 

Userlevel 7
Badge +14

@dd_rapid 

The Zap trigger will fire for NEW or UPDATED GSheet rows.

You would need to add a Filter as Step 2 to only fire for updated GSheet rows.