Question

Struggling with a Zap for Jotform and Trello!

• 1 February 2024
  • 17 replies

I am a newbie!

Trying to create a Zap where; when a Jotform entry is received, IF there is a matching Trello card with the same client name, then the Jotform is attached to that existing card.

I can set it up to create a new card, but that’s not what I want!

I’ve set up the flow: 

1. When Jotform (of a certain type) arrives
  2. Search for a matching card name on my Trello list
  3. Find the Trello card
  4. Add the Jotform attachment

Each test shows it seems to work (there is a card which matches), however the Card doesn’t get updated with any attachments.

Bizarrely the “File attachment” says ‘no data’

Any ideas 

17 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +14

Hi @Chalky76 

For us to have full context, please post screenshots with how your Zap steps are outlined and configured, thanks.

Thanks - screenshots attached. The issue seems to be the last step, actually adding the attachment 

Userlevel 7
Badge +14

@Chalky76 

Attachments did not upload, please try again.

attached as jpeg rather than png this time

Userlevel 7
Badge +14

@Chalky76 

The Card field expects the ID of the Trello Card from Step 3, rather than the name of the Card.

The File Attachments field expects file urls or file objects.

You should remove the mapped variable for “Email”.

The mapped variable for “Attachment” has “No data” from step 3, which would be why no File Attachments are added.

Thanks for the prompt reply … so two issues then. Does this look better regarding allocating to the correct card?

Your comment: 

‘You should remove the mapped variable for “Email”’  is noted. I only added this as a backup to see if it pulled the email (or anything else) to the card (it didn’t!).

The ‘no data’ bit is what’s throwing me. I’m trying to ask it to pull through the ‘attachment’ from Jotform (which IS the data) to add to the card.