Best answer

Zap not triggering when a new file is added to Google Drive

• 11 March 2023
  • 5 replies

I’m brand new to Zapier, so hopefully I’ve just done something silly and the solution is simple.

I want to create an automation that will do the following;

Every time a new file (png) is added to a Google Drive folder, a link to that image is added the “Image URL” column on a Google Sheets spreadsheet.

It seems to work fine in testing, but once the Zap is published the Zap doesn’t trigger when I add a new file, and when I run the Zap manually, it’s can’t find the new file.

Here’s what my Zap currently looks like. Thank you in advance for any and all help!!

icon

Best answer by ken.a 16 March 2023, 03:53

View original

This post has been closed for comments. Please create a new post if you need help or have a question about this topic.

5 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +14

Hi @MattMantheMapMan 

Good question.

The GDrive Zap triggers are scheduled (not instant) and can take from 1-15 minutes to trigger depending on your Zapier plan.

Zap triggers while ON for new data going forward.

Also, Zap triggers have built in deduplication, so you may need to alter the file if it’s already been used to trigger the Zap.

Thanks for the reply @Troy Tessalone!!

The Zap is turned on, I’ve used a brand new file that hasn’t been used before, and I’ve waited hours, and the Zap still doesn’t work. It still says it can’t find any new items in the file 😔

Userlevel 7
Badge +14

@MattMantheMapMan 

Not all my files are triggering my new file in folder Zap.

The New File in Folder trigger has some nuance about what it will trigger on:

Google Files (e.g. Google Doc, Google Sheets etc)

• If a file was created within the folder, the Zap will trigger
  • If a file was modified fewer than 4 days ago and moved to the folder, the Zap will trigger
  • If a file was modified greater than 4 days ago and moved to the folder, the Zap won't trigger

Non-Google files (e.g. pdf or jpg):