Question

Constant Contact error: Cannot assign list memberships to email address in state unsubscribed

• 28 October 2023
  • 24 replies

Badge

Hi - I am new to zapier and have been trying not to rip my eyeballs out. I have spent the past several days trying to get this seemingly very simple zap to work and get error message every time.

I am trying to connect thrivecart to constant contact - when a specific product gets purchased, the customer’s email needs to get put onto a CC list. If it is a new customer, then a new contact needs to be made, but if they already exist, the contact just needs to be updated and added to the list.

I realized I needed a multi-step zap for this so I upgraded from the free account and still am unable to make it go. The most recent hurdle I am getting is the error message reading: “

Failed to create a contact in Constant Contact

Cannot assign list memberships to email address in state unsubscribed”

I don’t know how to fix this part… Here are screenshots… SOMEONE PLEASE HELP!

24 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +14

Hi @zoes 

Good question.

The error means the email address being tested with has been unsubscribed.

Badge

But the data (email) was just pulled in through my test with thrivecart is with my email that has not been unsubscribed so i don’t know what to do

Userlevel 7
Badge +6

Hi there @zoes,

I’m jumping in to see if I can help!

Have you tried loading in a new sample data from the trigger step and using that new sample data to see if it’ll run into the same error?

Please keep us posted!

Badge

I did actually do that and was able to get the zap working for NEW contacts, however, if their email is already on my list it is not UPDATING the contact putting them on the correct list

Userlevel 7
Badge +14

@zoes 

Help info from Constant Contact

https://knowledgebase.constantcontact.com/email-digital-marketing/articles/KnowledgeBase/5636-opt-outs-and-unsubscribed-contacts?lang=en_US