Question

Using Tables to Collect Data and then process the collected data in one Zap

Userlevel 1

Hi there, I’m new to Zapier! 😁

We’ve created a zap which collects data (email & newsletter id) via webhook and then does the follwoing:

1. Checks if a contact exists in Salesforce by matching the email
    a) If not creates a new Contact and then continues with 2. 
    b) If it does exist it continues with 2.
  2. Checks if the newsletter exists in Salesforce by matching the newsletter id
    a) If not creates the new newsletter
    b) If it does exist do nothing 

The zap works fine but what we’re looking for a more efficient way to handle this, i.e. collect the incoming data in a table and then process the collected data i.e. every 15min. in one zap. 

I know that we can use Zapier Tables to collect the data and Delay to schedule it. However, I’m not sure how we can make sure the data is processed correctly and then also pushed out again once it has been processed. 

Does anyone know how we can handle this correctly?

Many thanks

Benjamin

4 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +11

Hello @BenjaminAe, welcome to the Community! 🎉 

I’m a little confused as to how the webhook can send a Salesforce ID for the newsletter before it’s been created by the Salesforce action that searches for it. Is it that the ID for the newsletter is being used as the name or as a secondary unique ID for the newsletter? As presumably the ID for the newsletter object in Salesforce will differ from the ID generated by the different app that’s sending the webhook. Can you tell me a bit more about what app is sending the webhook, is it a website or form of some kind for example?