Skip to main content
Best answer

Need to sort client form info into separate Google Docs

Hello, here goes with a Newbie question: I’m a relative beginner with Zapier and am the tech manager for my partner’s counseling/coaching business. I’ve developed a working Zap to report information from a Google Form into a Google Sheet, but need also to have the information go into separate client files in Google Docs. I’m not sure where to start with getting the information on how to do this -- I’m assuming I’d need to generate a doc for each new client from the identifier field and then append new information to it every time information is added. 

I’m certain this must be a fairly elementary task in Zapier, but can anyone point me in the direction of where to find the information on how to proceed? 

Thanks, and I’m grateful for this resource and this community. 

This post has been closed for comments. Please create a new post if you need help or have a question about this topic.

7 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +14

Hi @toneweaver 

Good question.

Can you outline a specific example so we can better understand the logic you are trying to apply with the inputs and expected outputs?

Thanks for the clarification, and I’ll try to remember to do that in future queries. 

Say we have two therapy clients, A and B, who each are filling out a weekly feedback form. I know how to get Zapier to send the contents of that form to become a new line in a tracking spreadsheet each time so the therapist (my partner) can have an overall view of client interactions. But I also want Zapier to send Client A’s responses to a “Client A” Google Doc and for each new form response from Client A to be appended to that document. I also want Client B’s responses to be sent to another, separate “Client B” document for Client B -- confidentiality is important in this field, and we don’t want clients seeing each other’s information by accident.