Skip to main content
Best answer

How to filter duplicate Acuity signups in Zapier to Google Spreadsheet?

Hi! I’ve got a Zap setup sending signups from Acuity to a Google Spreadsheet. But it seems to be firing a lot of duplicates, slash we just have people who signup a lot and so we don’t need the Zap to fire for them. Can anyone help me figure out how to create a filter for duplicates. Is there a way to? Thanks in advance!

19 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +14

Hi @Katie Rose 

Use this Zap action: GSheets - Lookup Row

There is a checkbox option to create a row if not found.

Doing so results in a Zap step that is find/create row.

Userlevel 1
Badge

Thanks, Troy! I think I’ve done it correctly now. I put it before the create row, so that hopefully it catches duplicates and doesn’t create a row when already found. If I took a screenshot of the setup, would you mind making sure it looks okay? I’m very new to Zapier. Thanks!

Userlevel 7
Badge +14

@Katie Rose 

Feel free to post screenshots with how your Zap steps are outlined and configured in EDIT mode to give us context.

When in doubt, test it out!

Userlevel 1
Badge

Thanks again, Troy! Unfortunately, I don’t pay for Zapier, so I can’t add the third step. Thanks for the info though!

Userlevel 7
Badge +14

@Katie Rose 

You don’t need a Filter step.

Zap Steps

1. Trigger: Acuity - New Appointment
  2. Action: GSheets - Lookup Row
    1. Check the checkbox for create row if not found

Zap step 2 will either find an existing row or create a new row.

Meaning if an existing row is found, then no new row is added, thus preventing duplicates.

Userlevel 1
Badge

Ok, I think I did this correctly:

Userlevel 7
Badge +14

@Katie Rose 

Can you post screenshots with how the top 3 rows of your GSheet?

You likely don’t need a Supporting Lookup Column selected.

Userlevel 1
Badge

Hi Troy,