Best answer

How to create a new customer form through Jotform triggered by a new appointment in Square

• 15 February 2023
  • 2 replies

Hi there everyone.

I am brand new to Zapier so please forgive any stupidity…  :)

My wife runs a beauty salon and uses Square as her POS as well as appointment scheduler.  It works well and we have also exposed online appointment bookings via Sqaure.  What we are trying to accomplish now is to fire off a Jotform consent form whenever a client books in for an appointment online and we don’t have a consent form for them yet.

The logic that I am planning to implement is:

1. Zap triggers upon new appointment booking
  2. Zap checks to see if customer is in a customer groups in Square called “Consent received”
  3. If not send them a prefilled Consent form from Jotform

I then plan to also build another zap to process the consent form when received back from Jotform and place the client in the “Consent recieved” group.

I have checked and all the actions and triggers seem available in Zapier so no problem there.  My problem comes in very early in my Zap though.  It seems that the ONLY data field captured by the “New Appointment” trigger from Sqaure, that can identify the client is “Customer ID” which works fine.  To check if they are in the customer group or pre fill the form I need more for their data fields though.

So my next step was to run a “Find Customer” function against Square.  This is where I am stuck.  I have three choices of fields I can use to search for a Customer:

1. Email Address
  2. Phone Number
  3. Reference ID

I assumed “Reference ID” would take “Customer ID” returned by the “New Appointment” trigger and and I would have the Customer record.  At this point I just get a “Status Code 400 Bad Request” error.  no matter what I do.

Can anyone help with this?

Thank you very much in advance!

Rudi

icon

Best answer by SamB 15 February 2023, 14:33

View original