Question

How do I use Zapier to sort new Google Drive folders by name into specific master folders?

• 21 March 2024
  • 1 reply

I have  Zap at present which creates a folder on google drive when I add an event in google calendar using the event name as the folder title  and then adds sub folders before setting up a trello card with the same name.

The issue I have is I want to be able to have zapier make the new folder go to a master folder depending on the name.

• Example . 1 new event in calendar = George White kitchen project
  • zapier creates a folder with the name George White kitchen project in the master folder  G
  • I have the folders of the alphabet already set up
  • so depending on how I name the event it would go to the folder with the corresponding leter of the alphabet eg. White_George  kitchen project would be placed in the master folder W

I’m very new to all this stuff so any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated

1 reply

Userlevel 7
Badge +11

Welcome to the Community, @Gavmo9! 🎉

There’s a couple approaches you could try:

1) Add branching logic to the Zap - use a filter or paths to check whether the folder name starts with a certain letter to determine which folder it should be added to. The issue with using filters for this is that you’d need to set up a Zap for every single possible master folder. With paths you can have up to 10 paths that contain a maximum of 3 nested paths (paths within a path) so you could handle it within a single Zap.

You can find out more about using filters and paths to add branching logic to Zaps here: