Question

Copy Googlesheet in Drive folder and move it based on Google calendar-defined "deadline" (event)

• 13 December 2022
  • 1 reply

• Anonymous
  • 0 replies

Hello! I am very new to all of this and would greatly appreciate your help!

Would it be feasible to use a Google calendar event to trigger copying of a Google sheet in a Drive folder to another folder?

For example, an activity log (owned by Org P) is stored in group members A, B, and C “activity log” subfolders on a shared Google Drive. At 11:59 pm on DD-MM-YYYY (Google calendar), this would trigger a copy being made and sent to a “pending approvals” folder (for review by Org P; once approved, this would send the line items to a compiling spreadsheet with another zap).

I tried setting this up as the following but I could not get it to work:

-Matching event in a google calendar (search for “activity log due”)

-Finding a folder in Google Drive (the problem may be here since nothing is directly related to the Google calendar event?)

-Finding a file in said folder, making a copy to a “for approvals” folder. (The approval would trigger the next zap to create rows in a compiling spreadsheet. This later zap works)

Any ideas would be much appreciated, thank you so much for your help!

This post has been closed for comments. Please create a new post if you need help or have a question about this topic.

1 reply

Userlevel 3
Badge +5

Hi @S_very_beginner, hope you’re doing well!

The workflow required is feasible. You could create a Zap with the following steps:

• Trigger: Google Calendar New Event Matching Search
  • Action: Google Drive Find a folder
  • Action: Google Drive Find a File
  • Action: Google Drive Copy File