Best answer

Can you use the formatter to create a fake email from first and last name?

I tried search the help forums and this was all I found and it doesnt show the steps used to create the fake emails from the name: 

icon

Best answer by rachael.silvano 9 June 2022, 15:12

View original

This post has been closed for comments. Please create a new post if you need help or have a question about this topic.

8 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +14

Hi @tspence20 

Good question.

You can use a combination of static/hardcoded values and dynamic variables, like such:

[NAME]@test.com

Is that what you are looking for?

Sort of! I am new to setting up Zaps so I am not sure what to use in the action and where. Tried to use Truncate but I do not think that is the correct action. 

Userlevel 7
Badge +14

@tspence20 

Perhaps you can provide some screenshots of your Zap steps and outline a specific example so we better understand the data inputs you are trying to use and the desired data outputs you want.

Okay so this is what i have so far:

So essentially that is the data that I am pulling from Mojo to put into my CRM, but my CRM requires an email address. So in the event that there is no email (primary_email: null) I need to create a fake email for the data to transfer from Mojo into Firepoint. My thought process was to create a step in between where the data was formatted to create a fake email address but I am not sure that is the correct path.

But the formatter is not working so not sure what I am doing wrong.

Userlevel 7
Badge +12

Hi @tspence20!

Ah, I think I can see the trouble here. The Formatter is a great tool, but it doesn’t work well with null values. In this case, that means you can’t tell the formatter to use a value only if it doesn’t see other data there.