Upload QuestionPro Response to DropBox as a PDF

Userlevel 1

For the longest time, I could not figure out a way to have QuestionPro survey responses upload to DropBox automatically as a PDF. I finally figured out a solution so I thought I would share and include my process in case any of the other steps would be helpful. I’m a beginner in Zapier so these are rough stabs at what I was trying to do. 

The DropBox zap allows you to create custom text files in DropBox. However, our surveys included signatures which needed to be included in the survey response.

Try Number 1: QuestionPro has an email notification function which allows you to automatically send responses as they come in to any email you identify. I started by experimenting with this and having the email sent to the Zapier email, then I used Zapier formatting to pull the html and a HTML converter application to convert it to a PDF. Initially, the HTML converter created one long PDF that was difficult to read, so I used the Zapier Formatter to split the HTML into chunks before converting it, thus manually creating separate PDF pages. The PDF page breaks were a little rough, but from there it could be uploaded to DropBox.

PROBLEM: We wanted to avoid using emails at all in the process, and adding the HTML converter application to the process was not ideal.

Try Number 2: The Google Docs zap included setting up a template. So I experimented with mapping the survey responses to a template.

PROBLEM: Now I returned to the problem that we needed the signature included. The signature showed up as an URL on the template, and was not rendered as an image.