Best answer

How do I copy a whole Dropbox structure from one place to another

• 21 October 2022
  • 7 replies

Userlevel 1
Badge

It's my first time on these forums, and I'm having a minor issue with Dropbox. I was wondering if someone could help. Someone alluded to a solution on the forums about a year ago here:

https://community.zapier.com/dropbox-q-a-69/create-duplicates-of-existing-dropbox-folders-8731?postid=41639#post41639

In short, I'm trying to copy over a folder structure from one place to another within Dropbox. There seems to be a solution by linking a Webhook to the Dropbox API, and I'm a bit out of my depth when setting up webhooks and talking to an API.

Any chance you can help with step-by-step instructions for setting this up

icon

Best answer by sillywonka 22 October 2022, 18:14

View original

This post has been closed for comments. Please create a new post if you need help or have a question about this topic.

7 replies

Userlevel 1
Badge

@Troy Tessalone Any ideas?

Userlevel 7
Badge +14

Hi @sillywonka 

Good question.

The Dropbox API has a copy endpoint: https://www.dropbox.com/developers/documentation/http/documentation#files-copy

App APIs can be used in Zaps with the Webhooks app as an action step: https://zapier.com/apps/webhook/help

I have not done this specific Zap configuration yet.

Userlevel 1
Badge

Ok, so I got this to work! Yay! @Troy Tessalone Thanks for your help.

For others looking to do this who aren’t as code-savvy. I mean, that’s why we’re here, no?: 

On the Zapier side:

I’m using a Webhook Zap with a POST Event, and the configuration is pasted at the end.

You copy over the URL from the Dropbox API documentation. Note that the “from_path” and “to_path” data field inputs have to be added with the plus box, and the “from_path” must be accessible in Dropbox through Zapier already (i.e., if you can’t find the folder using a normal Dropbox Zap, this won’t work).