Best answer

Sub-zap returned values are unusable

Userlevel 1
Badge +1

I have a zap that calls a sub-zap and returns a value from the sub-zap that I need to complete the zap process.

In the above photo I call the sub zap that creates the username from input data from previous steps.

This photo is the sub-zap. It takes the The 1st name, adds the 1st initial of the last name then attaches the date at the end. Returns the formatted Username to the zap to be used in subsequent steps.

Even through I can see the Output Value in the action step to update a record on zapier tables, when I test it, there is nothing there for the Username as shown below. I’m fairly new to this and this is bogging my mind as to why it is doing this.. 

icon

Best answer by Troy Tessalone 8 May 2024, 18:25

View original

10 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +14

Hi @YourMaxTV 

Help article for using Sub-Zaps: https://help.zapier.com/hc/en-us/articles/8496308527629-Build-reusable-Sub-Zaps

To help you troubleshoot, check your Zap Runs history details to see the DATA IN/OUT for each Zap step to trace the data flow: https://zapier.com/app/history/

Make sure to check the Zap Run for the Sub-Zap too.

Userlevel 1
Badge +1

Hey @Troy Tessalone 

The Zap appears to working as expected. I reviewed the zap run history and everything appears to be good, no errors. The data just isn’t being passed to function for some reason. I’m sure it’s something simple but I am having issues finding it.

Userlevel 7
Badge +14

@YourMaxTV 

We would need to see screenshots of the DATA IN/OUT for the Zap Run steps to have context.

Userlevel 1
Badge +1
This is the data in
This is the data returned from the sub zap.
This is the path of the run.

This is the Update Record setup.

This is the data in for updating the record in zapier table. The arrow at new_data_f19: is where the returned data should be listed but it’s some sort of GEN code instead.

Userlevel 1
Badge +1

@Troy Tessalone