Question

“path/no_write_permission/...” Errors when creating a folder in Dropbox

Userlevel 1

This post was split from the topic: 

@jarednw this is super helpful. I faced the same problem and was able to get the root namespace ID, but I’m struggling with an error. Zapier’s returning “path/no_write_permission/...” when I try to use it to create a folder in Dropbox. I’m a Team Admin in Dropbox, so my account should have every permission.

and @SamB  just flagging that Team Folders are still not selectable as a dropdown function. This workaround seems to make the connection, I just don’t have write permission for some reason.

any insights or recommendations would be super helpful. thank you!

22 replies

Userlevel 2

@ktownsend are you trying to create a root folder? or a new subfolder in an already existing folder? I think subfolder should work but a new root folder in a team space requires a different API endpoint

Userlevel 1

@jarednw a new subfolder. My org transitioned us to a Team Folder and I’m trying to adapt a Zap that used the Dropbox “Create Folder” action. So the action would create a subfolder, but uses the root id workaround since my Personal folder is the only one selectable within Zapier. The workaround seems to successfully call the API, but then reject the Zap on a permissions basis. (Thanks for your help btw!)

Userlevel 2

@ktownsend hmm, I'm not sure because that functionality works for me. Did you try creating a new dropbox connection with Zapier, maybe it’s using an old version of the integration?

Also just as a tip, I hardly ever use the create a folder anymore because it's a redundant step. If you use upload file for example and just enter a custom path like: /Top Folder/NextFolder/NewFolder/NewFolder2 then it will auto create NewFolder and/or NewFolder2 if 1 or both aren’t already there when it uploads the file.

Userlevel 7
Badge +11

Hi @ktownsend and @jarednw! 👋