Ever wanted your voice assistant to talk to Zapier?

Categories: App Integrations Beta Release
Ever wanted your voice assistant to talk to Zapier?

Hey, Zapier Community -

We're pretty excited about this new integration (in beta), and hope you will be, too! You can now use your Google Assistant to kick off Zaps with your voice. 

Change your Slack status, send tasks to your to-do list, add leads to your CRM: All by telling Google to "Talk to Zapier." 

Want to get started? Here's what you need to know:

Looking for inspiration?

- Janine Anderson, managing editor

This is cool @Janine_Anderson!

Congrats to you and everyone on the team for getting this out there 😃

Thanks! We're looking forward to seeing how people use it.

I just started playing with this myself, and I'm curious as to how others might be using it?

I see this as a better alternative to on-demand zap triggers like "Push by Zapier" or even the webhook/bookmark "hack".

I like how I can "converse" with it and set multiple fields/data points. As a test I took the "set slack status" concept and added a couple of questions into the Google Assistant trigger.

Screenshot 2020-02-08 00.15.02.pngNow using the answers to those questions I have an emoji lookup, and a filter to determine if it should set my other slack account with the same status.

This gives me great ideas for how to use it. I don't have all the dots lined up in my head yet, but something like creating a todo item (in trello, asana, etc) via voice command that is custom would be sweet. Imagine the following voice conversation with Google Assistant:

----

Me: Create Trello Card

Google: Which Board should I put this Trello Card on?

Me: Homework

Google: And which list should I put this Trello card in?

Me: Todo

Google: What do you want the Trello Card title to be?

Me: Assignment 45 from Prof Richardson

Google: What do you want the Description to say?