Best answer

Inserting Row into Excel but skip first column

• 28 April 2021
  • 6 replies

Userlevel 1

Hi there

I am new to Zapier and just creating my first project.  I have searched the forum for an answer with no success so forgive me if this is very basic stuff.

I am already successfully retrieving data from a FastField form and inserting it into a customers existing Excel file. The data is then stored in the Excel file against a prefined job no which already exists in column A.  Is there a method of inserting the retrieved data whilst leaving the job number in column A?

So in summary, I would like to add data from FastField into cells B2, C2, D2 & E2 whilst leaving the Job number in Column A.  The next record received would then be stored in B3, C3, D3 & E3 etc.

Many thanks.

icon

Best answer by Troy Tessalone 28 April 2021, 16:13

View original

This post has been closed for comments. Please create a new post if you need help or have a question about this topic.

6 replies

Userlevel 1

Hi Troy,

My mistake, I was still trying to insert instead of updating the row.  This is now working perfectly thank you for your help. :ok_hand:

Userlevel 7
Badge +12

@Acorn_UK 

It is possible with the update row action. However, you will need to implement a search step before the update action so that you can dynamically find the last row. There are lots of ways to do this, one way would be do insert a static value in a ‘lookup column’ every time you update a row. Then you can search for that value and add 1 to the row returned which would be the next row. 

Another way might be to have a separate sheet that you can query for the next row that needs updated. 

In sheets, such a formula might look like the following:

The master sheet with data

Then a query sheet that just reference the next row to update using a count function to count how many values are in column B then adding 2 to account for the header row and to give me the next row

Userlevel 7
Badge +14