Best answer

Strategies for Parsing / Presenting Info From an XML Feed?

• 20 May 2020
  • 5 replies

Userlevel 2

Hi Zapier Godz!

I’m still a Zapier noob and a tech mortal. Currently, I’m working on some fun Zaps from an MMO game I play online that offers all kinds of really cool data feeds out of the game. For one, they offer XML feeds of all the towns in the game (this is a massive file,), as well as feeds for the game’s map, players, alliances, etc. Additionally, players can generate their own personal XML data feeds for their in-game notifications, combat data, etc. as you can imagine, the possibilities are limitless.

Are any good strategies for creating Zaps that leverage XML data feeds like these? I’m not a programmer, so I’m not fluent in working in this space. I’ve tried using the IMPORTXML feature in Google Sheets, but to no avail because I can’t seem to find an X_Path query that works with the game’s XML town feed. I’m also not seeing any apps in Zapier that explicitly deal with working with XML.

Any thoughts?   

icon

Best answer by Danvers 18 June 2020, 15:08

View original

This post has been closed for comments. Please create a new post if you need help or have a question about this topic.

5 replies

Userlevel 2

Many thanks @Liz_Roberts . I was finally able to start using IMPORTXML in Google Sheets, but I would be much more interested in having a Zapier app that would let me easily extract certain things from an XML feed and then do things with them. I think it would be a great tool!

Userlevel 7
Badge +8

Hi @Jejune ,

Thanks for reaching out- interesting workflow!!

I have escalated this to Support as they are more familiar with XML and can dig into this for you. They will be in touch just as soon as they can!

Keep us posted on how your workflow comes together!

Userlevel 7
Badge +12

If anyone is looking to do something similar, there’s isn’t an easy way to do this I’m afraid. Here’s what the Support Team said: