Best answer

Newbie zap help - Mailchimp and Act

• 22 April 2020
  • 3 replies

Hi,

I am a newbie so hoping for some help to understand if I am on the right track or my thinking is a little off.

So I have just switched our email marketing from Constant Contact to a free Mailchimp plan. Right now I have 2 subscribers in my one audience, as I am in the process of adding my known unsubscribers and then my client contacts and then my prospect (opted in) data. So perhaps I need more contacts added to properly test the zaps and that’s my issue, but having just got Act Connect set up I wanted to see if it would do what I wanted!

I’m trying to add a Zap to say when a Mailchimp subscriber unsubscribes, it updates the custom ‘Email opt out’ tick field to TRUE.

So I know the trigger is ‘New unsubscriber in Mailchimp’ but then do I need an action to ‘find or create contact’ or is it just ‘update contact’?  When I say ‘update contact’, a required field is the contact I want it to update but shouldn’t it be dynamic? How do I tell it what to match against (which should be the ‘Email’ field) - is that in ‘Find or update a contact’ first and then ‘Update contact’?

Thanks for your help!

icon

Best answer by Danvers 23 April 2020, 12:56

View original

This post has been closed for comments. Please create a new post if you need help or have a question about this topic.

3 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +12

Hi @clares28! It sounds like you’ve almost figured this one out yourself - but I’m happy to get you over the finish line here 🙂

You’re right that you need the Find or Create Contact first, and then the update contact step. So the Zap would look like this:

1. MailChimp - New Unsubscriber
  2. Act! - Find or Create Contact
  3. Act! - Update Contact