Best answer

How to setup Find or create lead in Microsoft Dynamics 365 CRM and avoid duplicates?

• 30 January 2020
  • 14 replies

Userlevel 3

Hi! I'm rather new at this but need a lot of help since a can't find a solution to the former statement (How to set up Find or create lead in Microsoft Dynamics 365 CRM and avoid duplicates?)

I'm sure it is simpler than I think but I've tried mane times but don't manage to get real solutions

icon

Best answer by AndrewJDavison_Luhhu 30 January 2020, 10:36

View original

This post has been closed for comments. Please create a new post if you need help or have a question about this topic.

14 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +10

Hi @Jonna

The easiest approach here would be to add the search step, then a filter step that checks the success of the previous search step (Only continue if "ID" does not exist), and then add your create step after that.

Make sense?

Userlevel 7
Badge +12

Hi @Jonna! The Find or Create Lead action should do the trick here - it will only create a new lead if one doesn't already exist.

Could I ask where you're having trouble? Have you had an error in the Zap? Or does it create a new lead even when there's already an existing one? If you could give us a few more details then we should be able to help 🙂

Userlevel 7
Badge +10

@Danvers

There doesn't seem to be support for Find & Create - just Find:

Screen Shot 2020-01-30 at 16.55.57.png Microsoft Dynamics 365 CRM Integrations | Connect Your Apps with Zapier

Userlevel 7
Badge +12

Oh dang, sorry about getting that wrong!

In that case @AndrewJDavison_Luhhu is spot on - you need to use the Find Contact action and then use a Filter step that will allow the Zap to continue only if the Find step doesn't find a contact.

Here's a guide to using Filters if you haven't used on before https://zapier.com/help/how-get-started-filters-zapier/

Userlevel 3

Hi thanks! yes seems logical im going to try it

Userlevel 3