Best answer

Extract values from Discord embed fields

• 6 November 2021
  • 10 replies

Hello everyone, 

I am new to zapier still learning. I am trying to extract values from Discord Embed and having no success in correctly separating the values. Here is Zap Link 

https://zapier.com/shared/4cc2a261ac7ca01a5963e7b6f23e6f7b6a458bbb

I am having hard time extracting original values as is in the embed message.

I am using , as separator with zap formatter to extract values but it messes my whole google sheet when there is a different number in embed message with more than 1 comma say 1,100 and 1,111,000 will mess up the whole formatting of the google sheet.

Is there a simpler way to just extract value from Discord embed message.

icon

Best answer by SamB 16 November 2021, 12:27

View original

This post has been closed for comments. Please create a new post if you need help or have a question about this topic.

10 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +11

Hey @StockNerd, welcome to the Community! 

We’re not able to view the Zap from the shared link, it essentially just makes a copy of the steps so some of the set up and configuration details aren’t present.

Could you take a screenshot for us showing how the embed values are sent over from Discord? (Please make sure to obscure and personally identifiable information before posting).

That said, it sounds like the issue that the values are being split by the Formatter step wherever there’s a comma, so when they are added to Google Sheets the values aren’t correct as they’ve been split up. Is that right?

If so, can you confirm if the embed values are sent from Discord as a comma separated list in a single field, or are they send over in multiple fields as line items? If you’re not sure, sending over a screenshot of the fields as they appear in the test sample on the Discord step should allow me to confirm this. Thanks! :)

Thank you @SamB