Question

How can I tell whether / which of my Zaps are shared?

  • 19 November 2020
  • 8 replies
  • 30 views

Userlevel 2
Badge

I need to understand everything I built that is shared outside if my account. Both listed and unlisted.

I’m interested in saving templates that I can re-use. I need to understand if these are being made available more broadly.


8 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +5

Article: https://zapier.com/help/manage/collaborate/share-zaps-with-your-team

Zaps will be marked as being shared with others.

 

Userlevel 2
Badge

Ok - so Zaps are not shared out to the public. They are held as templates and shared within your account, if you are on an account with multiple users.

Correct? 

Userlevel 7
Badge +5

Yes, Zaps are not public, but Zaps can be shared with other Zapier accounts: https://zapier.com/zap-sharing

Userlevel 2
Badge

Should I understand that my “Shared Zaps” are unlisted outside of my account. i.e. only in the case that I choose to disclose the URL would the template be visible to members of the public with Zapier accounts.

On a team account, are Shared Zaps listed? i.e. visible as templates for re-use? Or must, in all circumstances, a prospective user have the URL?

 

 

 

Userlevel 7
Badge +5

Articles: https://zapier.com/help/search?q=share&size=n_7_n

Zaps are not publicly available.

Shared Zaps are only shared with those indicated Zapier accounts.

If you Share a Zap (via a Share Zap link) with another account it’s only shared with that other Zapier account, essentially making a copy of your shared Zap.

Within your Team account, Zaps are only shared if designated in a Shared Folder.

 

Userlevel 2
Badge

> Zaps are not publicly available

Do you mean even the shared templates? 

Because that’s not what “Anyone with the link” implies:

 

Thanks

Userlevel 7
Badge +5

Someone would have to have the link to make a copy of the Zap.

Meaning the Zap Share Link isn’t discoverable.

 

Userlevel 2
Badge

Right, so “unlisted” 

I assume not all of my Zaps have a share link. I’d need to share. This leads to the question: when I’m logged in, how do I tell which of my zaps have been given a Zap Share Link? Is there an internal listing?

   

I dislike the same terminology “shared” to mean distinct things. There’s shared folders (sharing the editing of a live zap) and shared zaps (availability to use a given zap as a template via the Zap Share Link).  It’s confusing.

Reply