Best answer

Extract URL from email, then scrape from that URL

• 2 January 2021
  • 4 replies

Userlevel 1

Hello, complete newbie and can’t seem to locate tip or info on something I want to do.

Essentially, I want to extract a URL from an order confirmation, go to that URL, and scrape some data from that URL.

I have setup the EmailParser from Gmail to filter and forward to the new Parser inbox, then I can extract that URL. That’s where I’m stuck.  Is there a way to then take that URL, go to it, and the extract subsequent info from that URL, such as customer name, item ordered, etc.  

Thanks.

icon

Best answer by nicksimard 4 January 2021, 20:00

View original

This post has been closed for comments. Please create a new post if you need help or have a question about this topic.

4 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +5

Hey @Olli,

I think what you are looking for is an app that can do the scraping for you, right? Maybe something like Apify would work for you? Have a look at it here.

Userlevel 7
Badge +11

Hi @Olli!

I’m not sure that’s something you’ll be able to accomplish with Zapier, unfortunately. Out of curiosity, can you elaborate a bit on what the URL is that you’re trying to go to? Maybe there’s a different way to do this, rather than getting that data from the email link (just trying to think outside the box).

Userlevel 7
Badge +9

Hey all - Maybe I’m oversimplifying this...But @Olli Can you try using a webhook GET request with the newly parsed URL? https://zapier.com/page/webhooks/

You should then just be returned the HTML from the page which you can then use in subsequent steps. 

Hope that helps! 

Userlevel 1

I sell on Facebook Marketplace, and when I make a sale, I receive an email from Facebook. The only tangible info in that email is the item sold, and a link back to my Facebook account to access the order details.  So, the URL to the order is going to be different each time.