Question

E-mail - sheet - Slack

Hey guys!

I’ve got a problem with automating stuff in zapier. Basically I’m receiving emails in which I have attachments.Attachments include emails, but every time it’s a different emaiI (that’s why I wanted to create new sheets every time the task is triggered). I was trying to upload this attachment into google drive then associate that email with slack users email and it worked but for the first time only. I wasn’t able to select custom values for the spreadsheet, therefore, it uses the same one with the same data. So the question is:

1. Can I somehow use custom value for spreadsheet and worksheet Id?

2. Have you got any other idea? Maybe it’s simple but I’m not that good at zapier (yet 😀)

Thank you in advance!

This post has been closed for comments. Please create a new post if you need help or have a question about this topic.

11 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +2

So help me understand what you are trying to do here…

You say, “Attachments include emails, but every time it’s a different emaiI”

Are the emails you are receiving contain attachment files that are emails (i.e. msg files)?

“but ever time it’s a different email” - Can you explain a little bit more here? Different From address, Different To address, multiple email messages?

Hey!

So, I receive e-mails with excel files, those files include 1 email which I want to use and send a slack message to. Every single file has different email in it.

Userlevel 2
Badge +2

OK. So at a high level...

1. Trigger on receiving an email (Email by Zapier or Gmail or...)
  2. Use Microsoft Excel to Create the spreadsheet from the attachment(s) in the trigger. See https://zapier.com/apps/excel for more details
  3. Use Microsoft Excel to do a search action for the specific row in the spreadsheet
  4. Use Slack app to send the message

Hope this helps.

Thanks for the reply!